Home Forums General Pre-Purchase Questions Plugin compatibility, and versioning with file sharing

This topic is: not resolved

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Nayem 3 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #53281

    Rhiannon Miller
    Member
    Post count: 2

    If I purchase both the Gantt plugin and the Kanban plugin, will tasks I create in one be visible in the other? Can I create a task in Kanban and assign it to someone in Gantt, then go back to Kanban and see who it's assigned to? If I move the task to ‘Completed' in Kanban, is this reflected in Gantt? Are there any limitations?

    Is there any versioning functionality in the file sharing? Can I update a file and still retain a history of older versions? Can a file be marked as being edited by someone else? Or does a new file (with a new filename, etc.) have to be uploaded every time changes are made?

    #53380

    Nayem
    Moderator
    Post count: 6480
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #53571

    Rhiannon Miller
    Member
    Post count: 2

    Yes, I'm aware I have to have the Project Manager plugin already. I thought that was taken for granted, as the Gantt and Kanban plugins are add ons to the Project Manager plugin.

    I'm asking for clarification on this point:

    The information about the Gantt plugin says ‘You can also create new tasks right from Gantt Chart window'. Similarly, the information about the Kanban plugin says ‘You can also create new task (card) right from any board you want'. Could you confirm that these tasks are global tasks (not tasks specific to Gantt or Kanban) and will show up in other views within Project Manager?

    Also, could you confirm whether there is any versioning functionality? How do we handle the process of updating project files?

    #53580

    Nayem
    Moderator
    Post count: 6480
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #53600

    Rhiannon Miller
    Member
    Post count: 2

    Thanks for getting back to me on the tasks question.

    With regard to the versioning question, I'm basically asking if there's any way to look at previous versions of a project file (e.g. a Word document). If a user shares a file as part of a project, and another user wants to share a revised version of the same file, what happens?

    Possibilities include:
    1. The user uploads a new file with a new filename. The files are stored separately and users have to look through the project comments to be sure they have the right version of the file.
    2. The user uploads a new file with the same filename. This file replaces the previous file of that filename and there is no way to view the previous file.
    3. The user uploads a new file with the same filename. This file is linked to the previous file and is marked as the current version, but the previous file is still available for viewing and comparing with the existing file.

    Please let me know how this would work with Project Manager Pro.

    #53731

    Nayem
    Moderator
    Post count: 6480
    This reply has been marked as private.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

The topic ‘Plugin compatibility, and versioning with file sharing’ is closed to new replies.