This topic contains 15 reply and 5 voices, and was last updated by Sekander Badsha 5 years ago
Viewing 15 Posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
Author Posts
October 3, 2014 at 4:16 am 27921
Sekander Badsha I have just recently installed the Dokan plugin and installed the latest version of the Dokan theme and I'm extremely unhappy. First of all, I have lost all of the custom changes that I paid a web developer hundreds of dollars to make (thanks for that). Secondly, I'm experiencing some major errors/issues. The main page of my site is a complete mess, the featured products, best selling products and latest products are not displaying correctly. When I try to go in to edit a product that I already listed when using the previous theme, it says ''oops page cannot be found''. The whole layout of the editing page when I add a new product is a mess. When entering the description, the page is squashed and it's cutting out the first letters which looks very unprofessional. The setting where I should be able to choose what is displayed on the main page (featured products, best selling etc) have disappeared. These are just some of the issues I have noticed. So far, a complete nightmare that has ruined my website. Thanks very much Dokan. To top it all off, you are now going on vacation for 9 days so I'm left with a broken website, errors everywhere and nowhere to turn to for support. Let's face it, your support is pretty much useless even when your not on vacation. Every single question I have asked has taken days (upto 7) to receive a response. You have wasted loads of my time and are holding back my business. Everything was going great when I first purchased the theme, now you have decided to change it to a plugin without taking into consideration your existing customers. I purchases a fully functional theme, not a plugin. For the price tag, your support is down right shocking and border line useless. I need to get this all fixed ASAP and cannot afford to wait 9 days for a reply. I originally brought up my concerns about switching to the plugin 4 days ago and have still not received a response to that original post. Don't sell a theme/plugin that you do not provide support for. My website is a mess and I have already wasted loads of time waiting on replys.
October 3, 2014 at 4:24 am 27922
Jason Jason

I too have concerns – especially about upgrading a live working site.

I am still running the original version of Dokan but am dreading the update with all the issues various Dokan customers are having.

This theme has great potential, but I feel the direction it is heading in as well as the slow support is a problem

October 3, 2014 at 4:33 am 27924
Paul Paul

Another issue is that I have no idea how to activate my slider, the setting for that also seems to have disappeared.

I know what you mean Jason, I would advise you to stick to using the old theme because updating has been a complete disaster for me. I would have liked to stick to the old theme but unfortunately, I had upgraded woo commerce to the latest version which was causing errors as the old Dokan theme was no longer compatible. Therefore, I had no option but to switch to the plugin.

I have no idea what possessed them to switch to the plugin. I understand that it allows members to use a theme of their choice, however, I was satisfied with the old theme that had all the features built in. I don’t see why they couldn’t have released the plugin and also kept the old theme and just updated it.

Now my site is a mess and it looks like it’s going to be like that for at least 9 days. There’s nothing I can do, so much time wasted.

October 3, 2014 at 4:39 am 27925
Jason Jason

Sounds like a nightmare Paul.

I hope you are able to get things resolved.

I think I will hold off any updates until we find out more and these issues are fixed.

I too think the theme should have been developed further. I can see the logic behind going the plugin route but feel this will be problematic for people due to the shear volume of themes. I doubt Dokan would work with every theme on the market – so keeping it as a theme the way it was is in my opinion a better way forward.

October 3, 2014 at 4:40 am 27926
Paul Paul

Another issues, the per product shipping add on plugin is now not working. I deleted it, downloaded it and re-installed it but still not working. This whole switching to the plugin thing was the biggest mistake ever.

Problem after problem after problem. It wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have to wait forever to get them resolved.

October 3, 2014 at 5:31 am 27930
Mahi Mahi

Hello Paul,

Sorry to hear you are having issues. Please let me explain –

1. in your other thread i warned you couple of times DONOT change/upgrade your theme if your developer changed core theme files. Cause, when you update to new theme you are going to lose all custom changes. so, before you do anything BACKUP BACKUP BACKUP. Also, you were not sure if your developer used child-theme or changed on core theme!

2. We released dokan plugin to meet more customer’s requirements and make it compatible with major themes out there. But, we never ever said we will stop working on Dokan theme. Dokan theme will be as it is and will gets updates and supports accordingly.

3. Do not try with Dokan theme and plugin both in one website. Then there will be a lots of errors and conflicts. You either have to use dokan theme or Dokan plugin with any other theme.

October 3, 2014 at 5:47 am 27931
Paul Paul This reply has been marked as private.
October 3, 2014 at 5:52 am 27933
Paul Paul

Dokan 1.0.6, the theme with all of the features built in does not work with the latest version of woo commerce (2.2.4) which I have installed. That’s why I installed the upgraded theme, Dokan 2.0, but, it does not work without the plugin, I get error messages. Yet, when I install the plugin, I no longer get the error message but it’s all wrong and the site is a mess.

October 3, 2014 at 5:56 am 27934
Richard Hoskins Richard Hoskins

I agree with you Paul, the support on here is quite slow. I have 2 errors on my website after I upgraded the theme that are stopping me from publicly launching my website and I can’t seem to get the support I need to get rid of them. Its been almost 2 days since I posted for help and as you said, now its vacation time.

As for your situation, it does seem that all your custom changes are unfortunately gone unless you have backup theme files somewhere. I recommend: 1. Getting rid of the plugin and keeping the theme (I assume your more familiar with the theme) and
2. Going back to your original developer and just paying him to make the changes you want (if possible). It’s ridiculous that you have to do this, I know, but it might be easier and more efficient for your website to be up and running in a week or less, rather than taking a few weeks to study and learn how to code. Who knows, your previous developer may even have back up files that’ll make getting things back to normal quicker and cheaper for you. Good luck!

October 3, 2014 at 6:05 am 27935
Paul Paul

Hi Richard,

I completely understand your point of view and thanks for the advice. My issue is though, the Dokan theme 1.0.6 is no longer compatible with the latest version of woo commerce so some features were not working correctly. I think my only option would be to go back to the old theme that had all the built in features and then install the older version of woo commerce, the version that it worked smoothly with. For me, I prefer the theme and have no desire for the plugin. Things just seemed to start going wrong for me when woo commerce released the major update and when I updated the plugin, Dokan was no longer compatible and I was getting a lot of errors.

I was under the impression that the new Dokan theme 2.0 was compatible with woo commerce and can be used on it’s own. However, when I installed it, there was no settings in the back office and I was getting a major error message on my site. That was the theme 2.0 alone without the plugin. It seems the new Dokan theme 2.0 does not work without the plugin. However, the old Dokan theme 1.0.6 does not work with the latest version of woo commerce and Dokan are not updating it.

It’s one big mess really.

October 3, 2014 at 6:30 am 27936
Richard Hoskins Richard Hoskins

Definitely sounds frustrating. If you can get your hands on the older versions of both Dokan and woocommerce then I think that’s definitely the way to go for you.

I was lucky enough to update woocommerce and the dokan theme before my site was publicly ready and have been slowly working out bugs for the past 2 weeks – there’s a lot of them. Either way, once I get my site bug free I’m not updating anything again haha

October 3, 2014 at 6:38 am 27937
Paul Paul

Ok, I have just re-installed Dokan 1.0.6 and deleted woo commerce and installed the older version that I was advised to installed 2.1.12, the woo commerce version that was working before things started to go wrong after I made update. Great news, so far everything seems to be working perfectly well. It was a struggle but I seem to have got there eventually.

Thanks for all the advice guys. I definitely prefer using the theme.

October 3, 2014 at 6:46 am 27938
Mahi Mahi

Great to hear that Paul. Please email me directly after 11 October regarding your site issue at : mahi at

I will get a dev member to check it out and update to latest Woocommerce and latest Dokan theme and see if it has any issues. We may set a test environment for that. Cause, so far i didn’t find any issues with latest dokan theme and latest Woocommerce, but as you find few issues we are interested to dig it more.


October 3, 2014 at 6:46 am 27939
Paul Paul

Yeah I know what you mean Richard, I certainly won’t be updating anything from now on either haha. I’ll just keep things exactly the way they are. Good luck with your site. I hope you get all the bugs fixed soon.

October 3, 2014 at 6:49 am 27940
Paul Paul

Hi Mahi,

Ok, I will do, thanks for that. Well the only real issue was that the sales were not being successfully tracked in the sellers back office. They were not showing in the chart, nor in the orders page. The seller could not get access to the delivery details such as address etc.

October 14, 2014 at 11:29 am 28335
Sekander Badsha Sekander Badsha

Hello Paul,
I am really sorry for everything you had to go through. Please take a backup of your database and files and mail me your cPanel login credentials to sekander[at]
I will setup everything for you.

Viewing 15 Posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)