When I delete my items from the dashboard the disappear completely. Is there a way to send them to the trash first instead? Can you tell me how to build a custom button that sends items to the trash, and not delete them?
The deleted posts are actually moves to trash. But we don't show trash posts in the dashboard, you can't see it.
If you want to see trashed posts too, you've to add the trash post status to the dashboard query in /class/frontend-dashboard.php in line 72. There will be kinda problem if you do this as you'll be able to edit trashed posts.